The Numbers: Which Team Has The Most Ballon d’Or Nominees

Posted by

The 23 man list for FIFA’s Ballon d’Or was released and here’s a run-down of which teams have the most nominees for player of the year.

The Lone Wolves

Eden Hazard is Chelsea’s only nominee, but his form in 2015 has been stagnant at 2 assists and no goals to his name in the latter half of the year.
Ibra has six goals in six games as well as two assists which makes it no surprise he’s representing as PSG’s only candidate.
Paul Pogba has a solitary assist and remains scoreless after eight games, much to the agony of Juventus supporters.
Alexis Sanchez is surprisingly the only Arsenal man, but his numbers are on fire with six goals in nine games while playing alongside Theo Walcott and Mesut Ozil.

Third place: Manchester City (3 players nominated)

Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne and Yaya Toure all have made the list. Aguero has been other worldly for the citizens in his recent form, doubling teammate Kevin De Bruyne’s three goals thus far.

Yaya Toure is pulling up the caboose with only 1 goal and 4 assists.

Second Place: TIE Real Madrid & Bayern Munich (5 nominees ea.)

Both Real Madrid and Bayern Munich have five players that made the list for player of the year which isn’t surprising given that both clubs are powerhouses in their respective leagues.

Real Madrid has ever-present Cristiano Ronaldo as well as Gareth Bale, Toni Kroos, Karim Benzema, and James Rodriguez. Cristiano is of course considered to be one of the favorites in the running with one Ballon D’or to his name as well as taking runner up the last three years in a row.

Cristiano Ronaldo has six goals and two assists in eight games thus far in 2015.

Bayern Munich host a bevy of top nominees as well: Robert Lewandowski, Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben, and Arturo Vidal all are being considered. Lewandowski is a stand-out for his recent five goal extravaganza, but Manuel Neuer has had some unbelievable performances in net as well.

Across all leagues in 2015 Neuer has 31 saves.

First Place: FC Barcelona (6 nominations)

The attacking players: Neymar Jr, Messi, and Suarez all received nominations.

With the four time Ballon d’Or winner (and baby-faced assassin) Lionel Messi on the squad as well as Neymar Jr. and Luis Suarez it was obvious that Barcelona would be on the list, but six?

Past the team’s offensive trio Javier Mascherano, Andrés Iniesta, and Ivan Rakitic all were given nods for the player of the year award. It’s surprising that one club is able to house so many egos and world-class talents.

Stay tuned because FIFA will cut the list down from 23 to just 3 finalists on November 30th with the final ceremony in January.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s